HydroFoil FoilFish or Hoverglide or something else

General discussions about kiting in the Pacific Northwest - Seattle, Tacoma, Bellingham, the Puget Sound, and places nearby such as the Gorge, the Coast, and BC

HydroFoil FoilFish or Hoverglide or something else

Postby patricklaidlaw » Thu Apr 20, 2017 10:01 am

Guys need some suggestions

I started learning to foil and was trying to figure out a few things. I originally took a lesson in florida and was introduced to a slingshot hoverglide at the beginning of last summer. I picked up a foil fish late summer and didn't really like how fast it got on plane. I literally was out of the water before I was ready. This year I rented the hover glide nf2 and did some practicing with the shorter masts from the slingshot flightschool. Made a huge difference in progressing fast over 2 days I went from not being able to plane to being able to plane a good distance out of the water and for few hundred meters at a time.

I'm now wondering if I should invest the 1500 to pickup a nf2 with board or should I just look at changing the low aspect wing to a medium aspect wing on the foilfish. What do you guys think? Or do you have a different suggestion.
patricklaidlaw

Re: HydroFoil FoilFish or Hoverglide or something else

Postby pdaniels » Thu Apr 20, 2017 6:13 pm

Hi Patrick!

I'm the local Slingshot beach rep, biased perhaps but I honestly believe the Slingshot Hover Glide (HG) is the best foil available now to learn on. Not just because of the different mast sizes available and the Slingshot foil flight school program, but because of the stability and design of the foil. It is a rock solid foil platform to learn on.